District Facts and Information

District Facts and Information


Dallas County Utility and Reclamation District (DCURD) is a political subdivision of the State of Texas created by a 1983 special act of the Texas Legislature that became effective on February 1, 1984.  It is the successor to Dallas County Municipal Utility District No. 1, which was created by the Texas Water Commission (now known as the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality) in 1972.  The District was created to construct and operate certain infrastructure and amenity elements within the Las Colinas development in Irving, Texas.


FEMA Levee Certification Acceptance


  • Flood control and drainage
  • Land reclamation
  • Water transportation concessions
  • Land-based transportation
  • Streets and roads
  • Recreation and open space amenities
  • Raw water supply and irrigation
  • Lake management

Major Projects:

  • Reclamation to create the 1,000 acre Las Colinas Urban Center
  • Lake Carolyn Storm Water Pump Station
  • Royal Lane Reclamation Project
  • Lake Remle and Canals
  • Hackberry Creek Reclamation
  • Cottonwood Creek Flood Management System
  • Raw Water Supply System
  • Extensions of Colwell Drive, Walnut Hill Lane, and Las Colinas Boulevard
  • Buffalo Boulevard
  • Colorado Drive
  • Participation with the City or Irving in SH 161
  • Area Personal Transit System
  • Electricity Aggregation – Electricity Aggregation groups created to assist property-owning taxpayers in DCURD to receive the maximum benefit from the deregulation of electricity under S.B. 7.
  • City TIF District No. 1 – City of Irving TIF District No. 1 created to accelerate economic development in Las Colinas through various means including advance infrastructure construction. DCURD is a beneficiary of the TIF.

Summary of Investment in Capital Improvements:

(Historical Cost)
Streets and Roads$12,700,000
Transit System$44,500,000
Capitalized Interest$37,300,000